Mixed Media Art

Collegeitis

Wanting so bad not to be here 

nor paying the bill because I am

 

Sitting in class with my auto pilot engaged

prolongs my ability to swallow this never-ending lecture

regurgitating it on a future exam means I pass or fail

 

Lugging around these cumbersome books

 that are filled with endless pages of pricey paper

trying to portray as if I’ve touched each one

 

Regardless if I become what I bought

metal to the grind is a secured guarantee

decreasing my student loans compliments of a 9 to 5

 

Four year walk on a hard, long, brick road

lined with expensive wisdom and knowledge

 

No longer thinking thoughts once thought

and defiantly walking a different walk

 

With only a few bricks left to travel

irrational anxiety is ignited

forcing my feet to walk at a slower pace

 

Bringing me to the conclusion that my purchased product

is nothing less than a new-found, priceless, non-refundable ideology,

which calms my frantic questions of what, why, and when

with a comforting perspective of

 

“I am here”

 

Leave a comment